On Monday, Feb. 8, Osborne Junior High varsity scholars bowl members Payton Bales, Clay Guttery, Dawson Lantz, Kate Kendig, Addison Poore, and Grace William competed in the PTL meet at Lakeside High School. The PTL ruled only varsity teams would compete at the league meet this season.

Teams were divided into two pools for round robin competition to begin the meet. Osborne played Lincoln in round one and grabbed a 90 - 30 victory over their opponent. Guttery scored five, K. Kendig three and Poore one during the round. Against Pike Valley in round two, OJH picked up an 80 - 20 win. Guttery scored three, Lantz and William two apiece and K. Kendig one.

Next, Osborne played Glasco in round three gathering a 70 - 20 victory behind the scoring of Guttery with four and William with three. After sitting out round four with a bye, the team finished pool play with a 90 - 30 victory over the host team, Lakeside. OJH scorers in the round were Guttery with six, K. Kendig with two and William with one.

Osborne emerged as Pool A winners with their 4-0 win/loss record. The local team then headed into the semi-final round matching up with a tough Pool B second place team, Rock Hills. OJH, unfortunately, went backward early on before making slight forward scoring progress during the round. The team ended up losing 55 - 90. Guttery scored four in the losing effort with William scoring two for the team.

Due to the semi-final loss, Osborne matched up in the finals against Lincoln, whom they had previously beaten earlier in the day. OJH again started the round slowly, and was unable to even up the score, losing 45 - 50. Guttery and William each scored two apiece with K. Kendig adding one correct answer in the team’s final round of play.

With OJH’s semi-final and final round losses, the best they could finish was 4th at the PTL meet. Beloit/St. John’s grabbed first place, while Rock Hills took second, and Lincoln earned third place in the tournament. 

Osborne’s varsity and JV teams travel Thurs., Feb. 11, to Natoma for their next meet which will begin at 4:15 p.m. Again, no spectators will be allowed at the meets this season.